Thursday, November 16, 2006

Blackout

<<previous next >>
It was a stormy night yesterday, heavy rain, thunders and lightning out the window. I was doing some homework when all of a sudden lights went out, lamps, tv, phone, everything but my laptop running on batteries.

Dim, pale, whiteish light iluminating my living room, plus the flashing of the occasional lightning. Walking with my laptop as a torch I reached candles and lighted them with a BIC lighter I found in the kitchen.

The first thing I wanted to check out was if was the only unhappy left in the darkness, so I looked out of my sixth floor window to check on the rest of the appartments. To my surprise not only the building lights were out, but also the whole neighborhood, even street, and traffic lights. Some one had pulled the plug on the whole city.

I couldn't help to think that it was the perfect time for thugs to break havoc, and that my girlfriend was about to come back. With the help of cell phones communication was established and worries dismissed.

The blackout lasted around half an hour, no major incidents where reported. Later local news informed on tv about a huge blackout that affected the whole south side of the country. Apparently the source was one or more lightnings that fell on the lines.

This is not usual in Uruguay. Not at all.
...

12 comments:

Anonymous said...

Hello Gabo, greetings from Dubai, UAE. I am from El Salvador and have been living as an expat in the Middle East for a bit more than 3 yrs, 90% of that time working for an IT company.

I started reading your blog, from the intro post to the latest one a few minutes ago, I was searching information about living in UY as I am exploring some job opportunities in the IT industry there, therefore, my wife (Colombian) and I are weighing the pros/cons of moving out of UAE and go back to Latin America. I would like to ask you if it is ok if I send you a few questions in a near future in order to gather some more information.

Thank you and congratulations for a nice blog.

gabo_uy said...

Sure, no problem, send the questions to fromuruguay[at]gmail.com,

cheers,
gabo

Anonymous said...

Hi, Gabo,

Your account of the blackout at first was almost romantic in some ways. It sounds like a incident similar to that happened in New York last year.

I like lightning storms. I'm glad to hear that communication could be established even though the power was out.

Anonymous said...

I think that was the tail of a large storm that the last part of the Paraná River basin and the Río de la Plata (direction NW-SE) Did you have hail?
We had an awful lot...

Syd said...

Hola Gabo,

My wife and I just returned from Uruguay. We will be back. We were in Punta del Este at Hotel La Bluette on the night of the storm. Our rental car had a dead battery. We were awaiting help from the rental car company. We were going to dinner.

Before the car rep arrived, the storm broke. It was intense like a monsoon rain. The hotel, all other buildings, all street lights out. The poor guy changed batteries in the glare of his headlights. We headed off in the dark in search of a restaurant.

We only got off course twice. Not bad for first time ever driving this direction. There seemed to be power in some of the town. We stopped at the first restaurant we found open.

It turned out to specialize in seafood and was quite a nice place. The dishes were well presented and acceptable, the wine wonderful, the service friendly. We ate as well as possible on this stormy night in Uruguay.

Zheng junxai5 said...

zhengjx20160323
oakley outlet store
converse outlet
ralph lauren polo shirts
coach outlet
adidas superstars
canada goose uk
omega speedmaster
timberland uk
coach outlet online
white converse
ralph lauren outlet
true religion outlet
nike running shoes
canada goose sale
burberry outlet
michael kors handbags
michael kors handbags
jimmy choo
puma outlet
adidas trainers
ture religion outlet
polo ralph lauren
ray ban sunglasses
ferragamo
ferragamo outlet
michael kors handbags
louis vuitton pas cher
burberry outlet bags
louboutin
michael kors outlet
coach factory outlet online
michael kors outlet clearance
polo ralph lauren outlet
michael kors outlet
coach outlet
mizuno running shoes
true religion jeans
burberry outlet online
burberry sale
michael kors watches

Zheng junxai5 said...

zhengjx20160818
coach outlet online
longchamp le pliage
uggs italia
juicy couture
ray ban outlet
louis vuitton outlet online
instyler max
cheap ray ban sunglasses
louis vuitton outlet
louis vuitton handbags
coach outlet online
ray ban sunglasses uk
canada goose sale
toms shoes uk
ralph lauren sale
coach outlet store
michael kors handbags
ugg boots paris
nba jerseys
nike roshe one
michael kors bags
michael kors handbags
canada goose sale
louis vuitton bags
kate spade outlet
ray ban sunglasses
louis vuitton purses
celine bags
ugg italia
christian louboutin outlet
toms shoes
air jordan femme
fitflop shoes
coach outlet
canada goose outlet
uggs outlet
uggs for cheap
polo shirts
ugg outlet
tory burch boots

eric yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

Jian Zhuo said...

nike free flyknit
coach factory outlet
canada goose
pandora
chaussure louboutin
ugg outlet
canada goose
yeezy boost 350
burberry sale
chaussures louboutin
2016121

chenmeinv0 said...

air max 90
tiffany and co jewelry
mbt outlet
nba jerseys
air jordans
jordan retro
christian louboutin uk
christian louboutin uk
canada goose
ugg boots
chenyingying20161229

dada24 Xu said...

pandora outlet
ugg outlet
michael kors purse
nike flyknit
supra shoes
cheap nike shoes
lacoste outlet
discount oakley sunglasses
abercrombie
canada goose jackets
zhi20170107

chenmeinv0 said...

adidas nmd r1
tory burch shoes
true religion outlet
cheap mlb jerseys
toms outlet
cheap ugg boots
uggs sale
true religion jeans
adidas originals shoes
louboutin pas cher
chenyingying20170117